FAQs

  1. How much will it cost to become a substitute teacher?
    • The total cost for becoming a substitute teacher ranges from $50 to $165 depending on whether you have a credential issued from the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CCTC). Included in these fees are a $100 fee to the CCTC for the permit authorizing substitute teaching, fingerprint clearance for the Tri-County Substitute Teacher Consortium, fingerprint clearance for the CTC. (Effective July 1, 2015, an additional $2.50 service fee will be assessed for online applications)
  2. How soon will I be able to work?
    • In order to be cleared for substitute teaching for the Tri-County Substitute Teacher Consortium, you must complete the appropriate paperwork and have a fingerprint clearance on file with the Consortium. Once the fingerprints are submitted, the Department of Justice (DOJ) provides a response. Substitute teachers fingerprints generally clear within one to two weeks from the time the fingerprints are submitted if the report is not held up due to the DOJ’s process. After fingerprint clearance you will be invited to attend the next Substitute Orientation. As long as you have the completed substitute packet, the STEDI Certificate, and the Child Abuse Reporting Requirement Certificate at the time of your Orientation you will be entered into the substitute systems to sub.  Uploading onto the substitute systems occurs on the 10th, 20th or 30th of each month after the Substitute Teacher Orientation.
  3. I have been fingerprinted in the past for another district/organization. Will I need to be fingerprinted again?
    • Yes. You must be fingerprinted through the live scan process specifically for the Tri-County Substitute Teacher Consortium in order to substitute teach in Colusa, Sutter and Yuba Counties. The Tri-County Substitute Teacher Consortium is the “contributing agency” when fingerprints are transmitted to DOJ. In California it is prohibited by law for multiple agencies to share confidential fingerprint results with one another.
  4. I want to substitute in other counties. Will I be able to do that?
    • If you already hold an Emergency 30-Day Substitute Permit or a California teaching credential that authorizes substitute teaching, you are eligible to substitute statewide and you may go to any county in the state and apply to substitute teach.
  5. I had an Emergency 30-Day Substitute Permit that has expired; how do I renew it?
    • To renew a substitute permit, visit the CTC website and follow the prompts to renew. The cost to renew is $100 and a Visa or MasterCard is required. Please Note: If your document expires before you receive a renewed document, when you renew online print the confirmation page with the confirmation number on it as this will be helpful to expedite your participation in the Consortium.
  6. When I renew my credential/permit, do I need to be fingerprinted again?
    • Once you hold a credential from CTC you will not have to be printed for CTC again, unless your credential/permit has been expired for more than 18 months. In that case CTC would require a new live scan clearance. In addition, if you do not renew a credential on time and you are working as a substitute teacher for the Tri-County Substitute Teacher Consortium, you will be terminated as a substitute in our system. When terminated, there will no longer be a fingerprint connection with DOJ and the Consortium. In order to reestablish the connection, you must be reprinted.
  7. I have a credential issued from a state other than California; what do I need to do?
    • In California, all teaching, services and administrative credentials are issued by the CTC. Although you may apply directly to CTC for a California credential based on a teaching credential from another state, we recommend making an appointment with the local county office of education to assist you with the fingerprinting and paperwork. The requirements for a California teaching credential based on an out of state teaching credential may be found on the CTC website. CTC takes approximately 50 business days to process an application. A representative at a local county office of education can assist you with this process.
  8. Do all school districts within the Tri-County Substitute Teacher Consortium pay the same?
    • The pay rate for substitute teachers varies from $90 to $140 per day.
  9. How long does it take to get an Emergency 30-Day Substitute Permit?
    • If you have no criminal history the permit will usually be issued within 50 business days from the time the application process was completed.
  10. How do I obtain the STEDI Certificate?
    • On the main page of this web-site under # 3 "TCSTC Requirements" is a link to the STEDI web-site. Click on this link and scroll down to "For Substitutes" and purchase training course "A".   After completing the course you will have the option to print the PDF certificate. You will need to provide the certificate at the time of your orientation.
Comments